Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

St. Louis Cardinals (40-37)


Sat. 6/22 Sun. 6/23 Tue. 6/25 Wed. 6/26 Fri. 6/28
vs. LAA 
W 4-2
Box | Recap
vs. LAA 
L 4-6
Box | Recap
vs. Oak 
5:15 PM PT6:15 PM MT7:15 PM CT8:15 PM ET20:15 ET0:15 GMT8:15 5:15 PM MST7:15 PM EST6:15 PM CST7:45 PM VEN4:15 UAE (+1)7:15 PM CT
Preview
vs. Oak 
4:15 PM PT5:15 PM MT6:15 PM CT7:15 PM ET19:15 ET23:15 GMT7:15 4:15 PM MST6:15 PM EST5:15 PM CST6:45 PM VEN3:15 UAE (+1)6:15 PM CT
@ SD 
7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT

Rocket-armed Cardinals closer Hicks has torn elbow ligament

ST. LOUIS (AP) St. Louis Cardinals closer Jordan Hicks has a torn elbow ligament and the team says it's determining what to do with the hardest-throwing pitcher in the majors.

The Cardinals said Monday the right-hander has a torn ulnar collateral ligament, an injury that usually leads to Tommy John surgery.

The rocket-armed Hicks has hit 105 mph with fastballs this season and routinely reaches triple digits with his heater.

 MORE
Leaders
AVG: Y. Molina.266
HR: M. Ozuna20
RBI: M. Ozuna62
SB: K. Wong13
W: J. Gant7
ERA: D. Hudson3.36
Saves: J. Hicks14
K: J. Flaherty89
NL Central
TeamWLPctGB
Chi Cubs 4335.551-
Milwaukee 4236.5381
St. Louis 4037.5192.5
Cincinnati 3640.4746
Pittsburgh 3640.4746
Full Standings
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .243 (21)
Runs: 355 (19)
Hits: 629 (23)
Home Runs: 95 (22)
Stolen Bases: 54 (5)
OBP: .321 (18)
SLG: .402 (25)
Total Bases: 1040 (24)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 4.15 (9)
Runs Allowed: 340 (10)
Saves: 22 (7)
Strikeouts: 656 (18)
OpBA: .242 (9)
OBP: .318 (11)
SLG: .413 (10)
Run Support: 4.67 (18)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
6/21 Y. Muñoz Reinstated From Restricted List
6/21 R. Ravelo Sent to Minors
6/20 Y. Muñoz Reinstated from Paternity Leave List
6/20 Y. Muñoz Placed on Restricted List
6/20 A. Wainwright Removed From 10-Day IL (Strained left hamstring)
Show Transactions
Injuries
Date Player Status
6/22 J. Hicks Triceps tendinitis (day-to-day)
6/13 R. Helsley Right shoulder impingement (on 10-day IL)
6/10 A. Wainwright Strained left hamstring (10-day IL)
6/8 J. Gyorko Lower back strain (on 10-day IL)
5/29 Y. Molina Tendon strain in right thumb (10-day IL)
Show Injuries

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.